Reporting From The Front

Reporting From The Front

La Biennale di Venezia 2016, Venice

28 May – 27 November 2016

“We would like the Biennale Architettura 2016 to offer a new point of view … Given the complexity and variety of challenges that architecture has to respond to, REPORTING FROM THE FRONT will be about listening to those that were able to gain some perspective and consequently are in the position to share some knowledge and experiences with those of us standing on the ground.” – Alejandro Aravena

In this exhibition, Forensic Architecture presents elements from four recent investigations. Undertaken at different scales, these cases extend from the micro-analysis of a single ruin from a drone strike in Miranshah, Pakistan, to an urban analysis of the city of Rafah in Gaza under Israeli attack; the death of refugees and migrants in the Mediterranean Sea, to the environmental violence along the shifting climatic frontiers of desertification and deforestation.

While architecture adds an essential method of investigation, forensics demands of architects the closest attention to the materiality of the built environment and its media representations. It also challenges architectural analysis to be performed publicly and politically in the most antagonistic of forums.

The 15th International Architecture Exhibition, titled REPORTING FROM THE FRONT, is directed by Alejandro Aravena and organised by La Biennale di Venezia chaired by Paolo Baratta.

Selected views of the exhibition: © Forensic Architecture


  • Eyal Weizman
  • Christina Varvia
  • Paulo Tavares
  • Charles Heller
  • Lorenzo Pezzani
  • Samaneh Moafi
  • Hana Rizvanolli
  • Ariel Caine
  • Ana Naomi De Sousa
  • Susan Schuppli
  • Steffen Kramer
  • Francesco Sebregondi
  • Nick Axel
  • Jacob Burns
  • Blake Fisher
  • Reisner Beeliz
  • Samir Harb
  • Zahara Hussain
  • Shourideh Molavi
  • Jamon Van Der Hoek
  • Hania Halabi
  • Vere Van Gool
  • Camila Solomayor
  • Rosario Guiraldes
  • Mohammed Abdullah
  • Tom Tlalim
  • Giulia Bruno
  • Jan Klesswetter
  • Giuseppe Ileasi
  • Armin Linke
  • Alina Schmuch

Comments are closed.